Lee County Courthouse - June 24th, 2018

Visit the 1899 Lee County Courthouse in Giddings

Only the 2nd Lee county courthouse, the first was built in 1878

Built a year after the similar Comal CC in New Braunfels

Cornerstone laid in 1898 and finished up in 1899

Restored in 1982 stated here and again in 2004

Walk to the SE corner of Grimes and Richmond streets

View of the south side with work underway in the SW corner

York was a commissioner for the new 1874 founded county & later US Rep

Centennial marker found at most Texas County Courthouses

County with only Wendish language school still surviving in the US

SW corner of the courthouse from Richmond and Main Streets

Veterans memorial along Main Street, west side of the courthouse

County named for Confederate General Robert E Lee

Lee served in Texas 1987-1861 & only left to fight for Virginia

Courthouse west side has the fire escape from the upper courtroom

NW corner of the courthouse with correct time proudly displayed

Step back for a complete view of the NW corner of Lee CC

Fantastic detail in the three patio archways & one over the entry

Built in Richardsonian Romanesque style similar to Harvard U buildings

A final shot of the north side from the side to avoid the blocking tree